top of page

Five Things I Want To Work On This Year


This is my first post of the New Year! I can't believe it has taken me so long to hop on here and share with you guys...which brings me to my point...things I want to work on this year! HINT: TIME MANAGEMENT

But really,

The thing about New Year's Resolutions is, you feel like you have to make a bunch of promises and goals to keep up with, just to prove to yourself that you are making the most out of the year and obtaining small and practical goals to achieve. It all sounds so easy and great but the fact of the matter is that we are just humans, and the clock striking midnight and turning a new year does not just magically turn us into different people.

So, while it is obviously important to set goals and change for the better, don't stress about becoming someone you're not. Work on things you'd like to improve on that really have a negative impact on your day-to-day life. You have to work with what you have and make the most of what you can. Another words, focus on what you CAN CHANGE. Here is what I'd like to work on to change in the New Year.

1. Time management:

Ever since I have started working from home/becoming a mom, I have found that my days can mush together really easily. Separating work and home seemed nearly impossible, so I am not setting priorities on things because I feel like I can always get to it since I am home. My time management has been horrible and I needed to do something to stay organized with everything that is going on in my life right now...which brings me to my big surprise! If you have been following along with me, then you know our house is on the market..well, we accepted an offer and are in the process of finally selling our house! WOO HOO! This means I have to start searching for a place (ya, you read that correctly) packing up, and getting ready for our move to Miami! So, here are some ways I have been working on my time management:

+ Morning routine: I have found that when I have a good morning routine, I get so much more done that day! I have never been a morning person so changing this one thing has really made a difference. I wake up and immediately make the bed, brush my teeth, wash my face and get out of pajamas. As a stay-at-home mom, you know that some days, this is a huge accomplishment on its own! lol By the time I get Jordan and go downstairs for breakfast, I am ready to take on the day and don't have to worry about getting ready while Jordan is running around or eating!

+ Planner: This may seem obvious, but the type of planner you get really makes a difference, also...you have to actually USE it! I was infamous for getting a planner, started to use it, then just relied on my memory thinking I would be fine. Nope. I love the Day Designer Planner in particular because it has enough space to allow me to write down not what I need to do day-by-day, but it gives me space to fill out a grocery list for meal planning as well! I make sure I keep it out where it is visible AND where I go to often so I am reminded to look/write in it.

+ Meal Prep: Cooking for three is very time consuming if you do it meal by meal and wait until the day of to try to figure out what you're going to eat for the day. I've noticed that when I dedicate some time 1 day a week to plan out meals and do a ton of cooking, then that saves me SO much time throughout the week!

2. Making more time for myself:

As a new mom, it is easy to feel like your life has been flipped upside down after having a baby. It is so important to not be so hard on yourself and understand that it is OK to take time for yourself. A little TLC can go a long way when your role as a mom takes on many faces. Here are some ways I made more time myself.

+ Ask for help. I was really reluctant to have someone else watch Jordan when he was first born. I think that it is pretty normal to feel anxious about your baby, but that feeling should subside over time. As a stay at home mom, I make sure that I take time for myself by asking my husband to take over while I go out and run errands or get my haircut or something like that. I also make sure I ask for someone to watch Jordan so my husband and I can have more adult time as well (even though the whole time I am noticing every baby and thinking about Jordan, haha).

+ Take advantage of nap and sleep time. Usually when Jordan is sleeping, all I want to do is clean the house. It is sometimes counterproductive to clean the house while Jordan is awake because he is literally making a mess behind me while I am cleaning something else! Instead, I have him help me with whatever I am cleaning. He loves helping putting laundry in the dryer! That way I can make more time for myself to do work or any last minute cleaning instead of leaving the bulk of it while he is asleep.

3. setting goals:

One of the biggest things I want to work on this year is writing down and setting specific goals I want to accomplish by 2020. Here are a few ways I want to go about this:

+ Setting realistic, obtainable goals.

+ Talking about them to Dave and see if there is any similar goals he has so we can accomplish them together.

+ Don't be so hard on myself when things aren't going "perfect". Being ok with things not going a certain way is not only better for coping but it honestly makes you see things in a positive light so you're not taking your energy off of what you want to accomplish in the first place. Another words, don't focus your attention on what's going "wrong", but rather, what's going "right" that way your always in a positive mood.

4. Travel More Often

Don't get me wrong, I love being home...I just want to clear that up first. Although, I would like to travel more often this year. I think it's safe to say that when you have a baby, your ability to come and go freely aren't there anymore...which is totally ok, I love being a Mom, but that doesn't mean you should stop traveling completely! I would love to get out and travel more often this year, even it is just more road trips! Dave and I would possibly like to go abroad somewhere and have my parents watch Jordan...they don't know this yet so, if you're reading Mom...SURPRISE! haha.

+ Set up a travel plan and get our passports.

+ Start reviewing and searching blogs (surprise, surprise) about places to go. There are so many bloggers that travel and do reviews on resorts and places to stay. It makes it so easy to search a destination and plan a trip nowadays.

5. workout/Drink more water

This is probably the number one New Year's Resolution, ever. Let's face it, it can be so difficult to fall off the wagon (is that the phrase?) when it comes to working out. Staying motivated, eating healthy, finding the time, drinking more water, supplement, no supplement...so. many.things. Here are a few ways I plan on improving this:

+ A trusty planner. This fitbook is a great way to keep track of workouts, your meals, your water intake, and much more...all in one little book.

+ Be realistic and set small goals and go from there. Take it day by day and don't focus so much on it. Just take it slow, but STICK with it!

+ Look up recipes for meals and infused water to make it more interesting! Here are some recipes I really like for infused water! As far as an infuser bottle, I have a Drop Bottle. Unfortunately, they are all sold out right now, but here is a similar infuser.

+ Cute workout gear! Because new stuff just makes it so much easier to get motivated! No, just me? haha.

I hope these tips help you think about what is important to you and what you would like to work on this year!

xoxo, Lauren

bottom of page